Foodist Jerusalem

A journey from a love affair with processed foods to a love affair with cheese.

Restaurant Review: Morgens

Wow, it’s been a while. Sorry about that. But rest assured, but hiatus from writing does not signify a hiatus from eating, and I have plenty of stored-up material to share. Let’s start with the new restaurant in the German Colony, shall we?

Occupying the spot most recently held by Village Green on Rachel Imenu is a new “breakfast” cafe, Morgens. What Morgens has going for it is good marketing. As soon as I saw that they touted themselves as serving breakfasts from around the world, I knew I’d had to check it out. Gimmicky? Yes. But if you appeal to my love of the most important meal of the day, I will come. Then, within days of opening, Groupon offered a 1+1 deal. Successful marketing ploy #2. My coworker and I got the Groupon and decided to lunch there recently.MorgensWeb

Bad news, guys. As feared a little, the breakfast thing is just a gimmick. Yes, they have a “breakfast” menu, but despite their international names, three of the breakfasts are “Israeli” – the typical Israeli breakfast and two kinds of shakshuka. A fourth is yogurt and granola (“California”). Another is the “Continental” – croissant. That leaves pancakes, Tunisian, and Mexican. The rest of the menu is pretty standard cafe fare – salads, sandwiches, and pastas.

The Groupon was for breakfast only, so I ordered the Mexican – a “burrito” with black beans, eggs, and guacamole – and my coworker ordered the Greek shakshuka – basically spinach and feta shakshuka with a side of tahina. Both breakfasts came with fresh-squeezed juice and a hot drink. The first thing we noticed was that this place was pretty into watering everything down – my juice was a glass of water with a few inches of pulp on top, the tahina was practically a drink, and the shakshuka was quite watery. Even my wrap tasted like water, which, I don’t even know how that’s possible.We got hot chocolates at the end, which were basically melted chocolate covered in boiling water with a little bit of milk foam.

So, just like I probably shouldn’t have been taken in by the promise of a breakfast restaurant in Jerusalem, I definitely should not have expected real Mexican food. I was just so curious I couldn’t resist. Mistake. It wasn’t bad, per se, but it certainly was not good.

Anyway, lesson learned. Good marketing won’t help much if you don’t have a good product. I won’t be back.

One comment on “Restaurant Review: Morgens

  1. Bryan
    March 12, 2013

    Hi Anna,

    I’m sorry you did not have a good experience at our restaurant. I would really be interested to hear your ideas about breakfast foods. Please could you send me your contact number?

    Bryan

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 11, 2013 by in Dining Out and tagged , , .
